My Goals in Life

I found a “Goals” document I made when I was in high school. I think I was 17 or 18 at the time. I think I had extra time on my hands and wanted to plan my life out. This is copy and paste verbatim.

_______________________________________________________

Financial Goals

Ø Max out Roth IRA accounts each year

Ø Use rest of income to put in high-yield savings account

Ø After graduating pharmacy school, I’ll have $70,000/year.

Ø For first two years, pay off student loans. I’ll be 26.

Ø For next year, put down payment for house. I’ll be 27.

Ø For next three years, pay off the mortgage. I’ll be 30.

Short-term 18-25yo

start a side business

graduate from pharm school

get a dual degree or a pgy1 residency or both

midterm 25-30 yo

buy a house

max out IRA ROTH & 401K

____________________________________________________

Looking back at this, everything is pretty much on track except for my side business. It didn’t fare too well. It was a great learning experience though. I will probably give more info on this venture in a future post.

Oh yea, enjoy the fireworks.

Tags:

2 Responses to “My Goals in Life”

  1. Michael Guzzo Says:

    Wow, I wish I was as smart as you when I was your age to even have such goals. You’ll do very well in life.

  2. pharmacykid Says:

    Thx, I hope I will. I’m not that smart though, I’m just efficient. I find that if you write down your goals (both long term and short term) and break them into pieces, they’ll be a lot easier to achieve.

Leave a Reply

