Wimbledon Classic

I was doing my daily websurfing and visited ESPN.com. I saw that Federer and Nadal were playing and said, “OMG Pharmacy Kid, you’re missing the top two players battling it out for the Wimbledon trophy.” Before I even turned on the TV, I knew the entire match was going to be great. However, I was wrong. The match wasn’t great . . . it was classic. When I turned on the tube, the third set had just ended. Nadal was leading two sets two one. From then on, I couldn’t take my eyes off the TV.

Some memorable moments

  • Federer saving two match points in the fourth set
  • Nadal winning his serve to make it 6-6 in the fifth set
  • Federer hitting the final ball into the net

I was rooting for Federer because well, I’m a Federer fan. I like him for the same reasons I like Tiger Woods and the San Antonio Spurs. These three are the model for sucess in each of their respective sports. Federer, barring injury, will beat Pete Samprass for the record amount of championships. Tiger Woods . . . is Tiger Woods. The Spurs are the team that coaches want to coach and GM’s want to manage.

However, the biggest reason I love these three sports forces is because they are humble. They have respect for the opponent. When Federer lost, it only reinforced my opinion of him as a champion. Federer had only kind words after the game for Nadal. He smiled and clapped when the new champ was given the trophy. I can only hope these two continue battling against each other in future tournaments. I’m glad I got to watch this great spectacle and will remember it for quite a while. I doubt there will be a tennis match like this ever again. Let’s hope these two prove me wrong.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

