Goodbye Walgreens

I lasted two months at walgreens.  I started in January and quit today.  It wasn’t even two full months of work.  It was about 8 days of computer training and only 6 days of actual behind-the-pharmacy work.  I don’t understand how other people can do it.  The thing I couldn’t stand the most is the damn insurance.  I hate insurance.  Why do we have to handle insurance issues?  The patient and insurance company should have to handle issues themselves.  Also, whenever I worked, it was so packed that no one could really teach me.  I usually was relegated to filling the drugs.

The pharmacy manager seemed bitter.  A couple of days she talked about quitting the job, blah, blah, blah.  The last time I worked was about 3 weeks ago, so the store manager called me and asked what is up.  I said I’m too busy with school and will probably not work anymore.  She said, “So that’s it?  You’re done?”  I said, “Yea.”  And that’s what happened.

At least now I know retail is not the path for me.  I give my respects to the people in retail.  They are special people who have thick skin or are crazy or both.  Now I’m looking for a hospital job or maybe an independent.

4 Responses to “Goodbye Walgreens”

  1. Ros Says:

    Don’t feel too bad pharmacykid. I’ve seen bad pharmacys and good pharmacies. It was dependent on volume, people, clientele. The Walmart in the valley that I shadowed had Sundays off and the weekdays were 9-7pm, Unbelievable.

    I wonder how over the decades the retails would be so bad, yet nobody ever pipes up in the news about the working conditions! I mean, I was working 8hr shifts w/o restroom breaks and that was the norm!

  2. ROS Says:

    Pharmacykid, I hope you are doing well. I guess you are finally done with the semester. Are you vegging out? Doing classes for the summer? Keep on writing if you can!

  3. Nina Says:

    I’m so happy to find your blog! I haven’t seen many blogs from pharmacy students. Anyways, I know how you feel. I worked as a pharmacy tech at Walgreens for a year. Honestly, I’m really shocked I lasted that long. I hated it with a passion. I’m starting pharmacy school this fail, and I don’t plan to return (outside of getting some intern hours).

  4. PPG Says:

    This might sound really stupid, but I get really lazy with commenting.
    So, I don’t know if you really know how many people regularly check your blog since we don’t comment, but seriously you’re blog is AWESOME! keep it up!
    Also, if you could be a little more specific with things that go on actually IN school, well… that’d be cool too.

    -Pre-PharmacyGirl

Leave a Reply

